What is Louisiana’s DWI Child Endangerment Law?
DWI Child Endangerment Law is a prominent state regulation in Louisiana that penalizes driving while intoxicated under the impact of drugs or alcohol with a minor under 13 in a motor vehicle.
In addition, this Louisiana regulation strives to safeguard children from the risks involved in drunk or incapacitated driving and to hold licensed drivers responsible for their actions.
Understanding Louisiana DWI and Child Abuse and its prevention
DWI child endangerment in Louisiana has been deemed a type of child abuse. It implies that a sentence for DWI child endangerment can have severe repercussions for an individual’s career and prominence.
For instance, an individual sentenced for DWI child endangerment may be restricted from working in specific jobs, such as childcare or teaching. Therefore, the most suitable way to prevent DWI child endangerment in Louisiana is to avoid getting intoxicated on drugs or alcohol while driving.
And if a person wants to get high, they must arrange for a specified driver, take a cab, or use ride-sharing assistance. Another way to prevent DWI child endangerment is to guarantee that children are never left alone in a car with a person who has been drinking or is intoxicated. Caregivers and parents should always hire a designated driver or another trustworthy person to care for children if they have been drinking.
Elements of Louisiana’s DWI Child Endangerment Law
To be convicted for a violation Louisiana’s DWI Child Endangerment Law, the prosecutor must verify different elements of the crime. The primary aspect is that the person was driving under the influence of prohibitory drugs or alcohol. In addition, the second aspect is that the person drove the vehicle with a minor child under 13. Besides, the prosecution must also verify that the defendant was conscious that a child was in the vehicle.
Legal Penalties for Louisiana DWI Child Endangerment
The penalties for Louisiana's DWI child endangerment can vary depending on the circumstances of the violations. Below are the applicable penalty provisions for Louisiana's DWI child endangerment.
1. First offense under Louisiana DWI Child Endangerment
Punishable by a monetary penalty ranging between $300 and $1,000 and detention ranging from ten days to six months. With a conviction under the Child Endangerment Law, the ten day minimum sentence cannot be suspended. That means that the convicted driver will spend at least ten days in jail.
2. Second offense under Louisiana DWI Child Endangerment
Punishable by a monetary penalty ranging between $750 and $1,000 and detention ranging from 30 days to six months. With a conviction under the Child Endangerment Law, the thirty day minimum sentence cannot be suspended. That means that the convicted driver will spend at least thirty days in jail.
3. Third offense under Louisiana DWI Child Endangerment
Punishable by a monetary penalty of $2,000 and detention varying between one and five years. If the judge imposes imprisonment as a sentence for a third offense DWI, the minimum mandatory sentence cannot be suspended.
3. Fourth offense under Louisiana DWI Child Endangerment
Punishable by a monetary penalty of $5,000 and detention varying between ten and thirty years. If the judge imposes imprisonment as a sentence for a fourth offense DWI, the minimum mandatory sentence cannot be suspended.
To sum up, DWI child endangerment is a severe offense in Louisiana state. The punishments for DWI child endangerment can be stringent, including monetary penalties, prison time, and the permanent cancellation of a driver's license. Furthermore, to prevent DWI child endangerment, avoiding drinking or being high on drugs while driving is necessary. And by taking these measures, you can avoid DWI penalties and protect children from the hazards of drunk driving.
Contact Us Today!
Gaynell Williams LLC, Attorney at Law, offers a free initial consultation to discuss your case. The first consultation can be in person, or it can be virtual on the Internet. Call Gaynell Williams today at (504) 302-2462 for a free consultation as soon as possible. We will work around your schedule. New Orleans lawyers Gaynell Williams LLC Attorney at Law, have offices in Gretna and Downtown New Orleans by appointment only.
This information has been provided for informational purposes, is not intended, and should not be construed as legal advice. Please consult your attorney regarding any specific situation under Louisiana law and the applicable state or local laws that may affect your legal rights.