Search
  • Gaynell Williams, LLC.

What You Need To Know About Louisiana Gun Laws 2022

Updated: Feb 28

Firearms have been used in Louisiana for a long time. There is no shortage of weapons in Louisiana. However, according to the law, there are places where you can't carry a firearm.

Louisiana Gun Laws
Louisiana Gun Laws

Now that may be a turn off for many, and perhaps even for you. However, there is no need for such sad feelings. That is because places where you can carry a weapon far outweigh the number of places where you cannot possess a firearm.


Just exactly where can you carry a weapon in Louisiana? That is the subject of this article.


Getting A Permit & The Types Of Permit


According to state law, an individual needs to be at least 21 years old before they are permitted to conceal carry a gun. However, you can get a gun at 18 years old but you cannot conceal carry a gun at that age. For conceal carrying, you must be at least 21 years of age.


However, the permit to conceal carry also requires an individual to be a resident of Louisiana. Otherwise, the individual is not given a conceal carry permit by Louisiana officials.


Now, as far as Louisiana is concerned, there are two types of permits that an individual can get: a 5-year permit and a lifetime permit. If you are a resident of Louisiana and you fulfil all the requirements laid out by the state, then you can apply for one of those and enjoy carrying your firearm with you.


You Cannot Carry A Firearm When It’s A “No Weapons” Area!


Watch out for the "No Weapons" signs in Louisiana!


The "No Weapons" signs in Louisiana are strongly enforced by law enforcement in this state. The objective of the "No Weapons" signs is to ensure the safety of all landowners who do not want to entertain any person carrying a firearm on their property.


Hence, whenever you see the no weapon sign, you must remember to obey the signpost and abstain from carrying your firearm on their property.


And a lot of people reading this might confuse this matter with having a constitutional right or having a concealed permit. If you find yourself confused about this matter as well, then you need to understand the difference between having a constitutional right, a concealed permit, and a "No Weapons" signpost. When your heart tells you that you have the constitutional right, it's not lying.


However, that right gets limited on private property because that is operated under and according to the rights of the private individual and is governed by their requirements.


Places Where You Cannot Carry Your Firearm


It may seem a little bit strange at first, but you are not allowed to carry a firearm near events like parades and in places like courtrooms and detention facilities. However, if you think seriously, you will understand why.


These are sensitive places with regards to provocation, in a sense that provocation can really get off the limits here and consequently lead to chaos and dangerous activity. Hence, carrying a firearm in such places is not allowed.


Now as for the places where alcoholic beverages are dealt and exchanged, no one is allowed to carry a weapon to such areas. That is because, in order to carry a weapon, one’s mind should be working properly.


So, now that we are done discussing why some places are sensitive enough to allow firearms, let’s move on towards listing those areas where you are not allowed to carry a weapon.

  1. Detention facilities, jails, prisons.

  2. Courthouse or courtroom.

  3. Polling station.

  4. State capitol.

  5. Places of worship.

  6. Parade or similar demonstrations.

  7. Restaurant.

  8. Places where alcoholic is sold for consumption on the premises.

  9. Learning facilities.

  10. "No weapon" zones.

Are You Allowed To Open Carry In Louisiana?


You are allowed to open carry in Louisiana once you turn 18. On the other hand, concealed carry requires you to be at least 21 years old. However, it must be noted that all gun laws must be followed at all times. Failure to comply will otherwise have you facing hefty fines or perhaps even jail in some cases.


Louisiana however, is an open-carry state with "no carry" restrictions for some places. Now again, this may annoy some gun owners as they find themselves restricted on private property.


Let us explain that a little bit more. Usually, whenever a state doesn't have a preemption law, local municipalities have the freedom to regulate the presence of firearms in their territory.


Where Can You Open Carry In Louisiana?

  1. Restaurant: You may open carry a weapon in a restaurant unless the restaurant sells alcohol for consumption on site or unless there is a sign posted indicating that open carry is not allowed.

  2. Personal vehicle: You are allowed to carry your gun in your vehicle.

  3. Roadside areas: Yes, that's a piece of good news for those who worry about self-defense a little too much, but rightly so.

  4. State parks & forests: You can open carry in state parks, forests, and wildlife management areas as well.

Should I Notify An Approaching Police Officer About The Firearm?


According to Louisiana law, it is compulsory for you to inform the approaching police officer that you have a firearm with you in the vehicle. The objective is to ensure the safety between you and the police officer during the exchange. However, please bear in mind that you should communicate the message politely, at all costs. That will help you ensure that nothing goes poorly.


Let’s Conclude


The state of Louisiana has plans to keep on improving the current gun laws and revise them based on the changing landscape. As of today, the applicable laws allow you to carry and conceal carry a firearm except for the places that were highlighted in the above-mentioned material.


And as we have also stated, the reasons and wisdom behind restricting the carrying of weapons to some places, we hope that you will continue to comply with the current laws of the state.


Albeit, as you may have noticed, there is no shortage of simplicity that accompanies the active gun laws in the state. No rule is complicated, neither to understand and nor to comply with.


However, if you have any queries, feel free to leave a comment down below and we'll make sure to answer that for you.


Contact Us Today


Gaynell Williams LLC Attorney at Law offers a free initial consultation to discuss your case. The first consultation can be in person or it can be virtual, on the Internet. Call Gaynell Williams today at (504) 302-2462 for a free consultation as soon as possible. We will work around your schedule. New Orleans lawyers Gaynell Williams LLC Attorney at Law have offices in Gretna and Downtown New Orleans by appointment only.


This information has been provided for informational purposes only and is not intended and should not be construed to constitute legal advice. Please consult your attorney in connection with any specific situation under Louisiana law and the applicable state or local laws that may affect your legal rights.


© 2022 Gaynell Williams

684 views0 comments